Fantasy Book Recommendation: Truly Unfortunate by C.A. King!

Fantasy Book Recommendation: Truly Unfortunate by C.A. King!

January 4, 2019 Fantasy Books 20

Who This Book Recommendation is For

Wondering what to read after Nora Robert’s Tribute, John Bowen’s Where the Dead Walk, or Josh Malerman’s Bird Box?

We’ve found your perfect match.

Truly Unfortunate blends paranormal with murder and mystery in this thrilling first installment to the Welcome to Knollville series! Reviewers have raved about it’s Edgar Allen Poe vibe. Unearthly Ever Afters recommends this title for fans of John Bowen, Josh Malerman, and Nora Roberts.

Start Reading Today


Books & Quills Magazine has selected this book for their January Read & Greet program! Learn More.

Growing up in Knoll County without any childhood memories isn’t easy.

Truly spent her whole life searching for the answers her mind refused to reveal. There might have been horrors in her past, but her current existence isn’t much better than a nightmare itself. After beginning treatments with a new doctor, disturbing visions began to resurface. The stench of death surrounds her, but where exactly is it coming from?

Jeff always knew he wanted to be one of Knoll County’s finest and has no problem achieving that dream. A part of his ambition stems from the death of a classmate at the tender age of nine. It might have been ruled an accident, but his gut told him otherwise. So when people start turning up dead in the same pattern, Jeff puts everything on the line to connect the dots between past and present. But in doing so, will his own future be jeopardized?

Truly Unfortunate is a dark paranormal thriller that will leave readers with chills after answering the question: Which is stronger… the boundaries of reality or the safety on one’s own mind?

Start Reading Today


What Readers Are Saying

“Truly Unfortunate” is the first book in the Welcome to Knollville series by C.A King. C.A King’s newest fascinating character is Truly. She doesn’t remember anything from her childhood and works three jobs just to pay for her crappy apartment and the therapy she needs. Strange events start to occur in her small town of Knollville and Knoll County’s most skeptical police officer, Jeff, is on the case. I was so excited when this book got released since I am a HUGE fan of C.A King and her Portal Prophecies series. C.A King has an incredible talent of creating these other worlds and interesting characters that I wish I could visit. Every book I have read, and there have been several now, are wildly imaginative and unpredictable in every sense. C.A King is one of those authors whose brain I wish I could peer into and see how she sees life. Her imagination and creativity never cease to amaze me. I am so excited for more of this series to come out so I can continue to love them, as I know I will. Five obvious stars from me! Now to download a bunch more of her books to tide me over until more Welcome to Knollville books come out!!” – Emily Bee, Amazon

“This is an interesting first book in the Knollville series and the cover is gorgeous. It’s part paranormal, part psychological, part murder mystery and the author manages to weave all those genres together perfectly. The book is told third person and there were a lot of times I was wondering if the chapters told from Truly’s point of view were actually real or she really was crazy like her doctors thought. The rest of the book is told from the point of view from two police officers. The door is open for more books in the series, though it’s hard to tell if they will be told from Truly’s point of view or the officers in the book. Truly’s story is kind of closed and kind of not. I’ll be interested to see where this story goes when the next book comes out.” – JB, Amazon

Reading mysteries and thrillers aren’t normally my thing, but I am so happy I read this one! Truly is a young woman who has an unfortunate life and missing memories. Unexplained things happen involving psychics, fortunes and terrible men, making for a riveting tale as we follow the characters stories. This book has a Edgar Allen Poe vibe to it (which I love) so if you like dark and twisty, give it a read. It’s worth it!” – Kindle Customer, Amazon

Start Reading Today


If you like Truly Unfortunate, you’ll also enjoy…

  


Bird Box Giveaway

 

  1. Angelica Dimeo says:

    the cover looks cool

  2. SCOTT BRUNSKILL says:

    Keen to read your book….and Bird Box….thank you

  3. Cheryl Nichols says:

    Super nice

  4. Debra Branigan says:

    Love the cover of Truly Unfortunate. Good luck with our novel.

  5. Becky Sands says:

    Looks like it’s gonna be a keeper!!

  6. Linda Romer says:

    I read Escape to darkness and loved it! Thank you

  7. Dorothy Boucher says:

    How much for this chance looking forward to reading your books.
    @tisonlyme143

  8. Kelly Powell says:

    Thank you for the giveaway. Ordered your book and want to read list on Goodreads.

  9. Richard Dominguez says:

    Thank you for the chance to win a copy of Bird Box. “Truly Unfortunate” sounds like a great read and I have added it to my “to-read” shelf on Goodreads …

    Thanks again

  10. Elizabeth Robinson says:

    I am truly intrigued by the story and outline of the description of Truly Unfortunate. I can’t wait to pick it and read! It’s a must and have a good feeling once I pick it up and start reading .. I’ll never want to put it down..

  11. Laura says:

    Sounds like such a good read! I’m looking forward to reading it!

  12. Andrea Dunigan says:

    Thank you for the chance to win this great giveaway 🙂

  13. LA Smith says:

    They sound great

  14. Lisa says:

    Unearthly fall book fair

  15. Anna Fay says:

    It looks good!!

  16. Paula Browning says:

    This book sounds amazing! I can’t wait to read it. It will be my first C.A. Kong’s books. And thanks for this awesome giveaway

  17. B.J. Bernal says:

    Sounds intriguing! 💖

  18. Lella Reguia says:

    This sounds really good 🙂

  19. Maria Dalmau says:

    Sounds like an intriguing book. On my TBR…

  20. Ed says:

    Love the Cover.
    I also loved the combined elements of paranormal with murder and mystery
    .

    thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *